Austin Tracey's blog

A Kvltist's Guide To Wintry Putrid Filth

Since the winter months open up so many doors to those of us like myself who aren't the slightest bit turned off by no-fi releases churned from Satanists confined to their isolated baseme-- I mean chunk of sacrilegous doomplace, I've decided to look through a bunch of my wintry no-fi records with grim covers and grim names as to prescribe you all with ultimate grimness and funny band names in your kvlt-land: en hiver as the kvlt Les Legions Noire would say. We salute you, lonely French Satanists, with this quote:

Surfgaze-A Foul Cry for Attention

If you've kept any sort of tab on music hype-trains lately (i.e. Pitchfork and some more Pitchfork and just an ounce of Pitchfork), you know exactly what I'm talking about when I refer to the resurgence of the "lol-fi," surf rock fad - we've seen it before (probably at your VFW or on a beach in Cali Cali), but with artists like Wavves and Best Coast again releasing slapdash comedies wrapped in egotistical, trend-savvy packages - armed with predictable Best New Music Statuses and an equally expected increase in sales - the scene is making an impact.

Summer. Not so Hopeless After All.

Dud-dud.

 

Dud-dud.

 

Dud-dud.

 

Did You Know?

Batman
Batman says... "The White Stripes are from Detroit, but they are much bigger in England than the US."

Featured Album

Hawthorne Heights-Hate
Hate
Hawthorne Heights

Recent Interviews

ARIA
ARIA
Tue, September 06, 2011
A Common Year
A Common Year
Thu, September 01, 2011
Mayday Parade
Mayday Parade
Mon, August 22, 2011
Blessthefall
Blessthefall
Tue, August 09, 2011
Stray From the Path
Stray From the Path
Thu, August 04, 2011
The Summer Set
The Summer Set
Wed, July 27, 2011
Psychic Babble
Psychic Babble
Tue, June 28, 2011
Touche Amore
Touche Amore
Fri, June 24, 2011
August Burns Red
August Burns Red
Tue, June 21, 2011
Nocturnal Me
Nocturnal Me
Mon, June 13, 2011
Living With Lions
Living With Lions
Mon, June 13, 2011
Polar Bear Club
Polar Bear Club
Sun, June 12, 2011
The Swellers
The Swellers
Mon, May 23, 2011
Balance And Composure
Balance And Com ...
Sun, May 22, 2011
Protest The Hero
Protest The Hero
Fri, April 29, 2011
Dredg
Dredg
Wed, April 27, 2011
Otep
Otep
Sat, April 23, 2011
Fireworks
Fireworks
Tue, April 12, 2011
Dance Gavin Dance
Dance Gavin Dance
Sun, April 03, 2011
He Is We
He Is We
Sat, March 05, 2011

Powered by Drupal. Eco-friendly hosting provided by Site5 LLC.
All content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License .